Writer.Chef.Romantic.

My Worst Kept Secret

In Writer on November 20, 2016 at 12:20 pm
Book One

Book 1

Book Two

Book 2

Book Three

Book 3

Book 3.5

Book 3.5

Book 4

Book 4

 

 

 

 

I’m Miranda Baker. Well…my pen name is Miranda Baker.

My real name is Amanda Usen…but Baker is my “maiden” name, and Miranda is close enough to Amanda that if someone calls to me at a conference, I’ll turn around. That’s why I picked it. Since I was teaching high school SAT prep classes when these books were published, I thought it best to keep my kinky imagination camouflaged under another name. I also thought I could write enough books to fuel two careers…bwahahaha! If you’ve been following the blog, you know how that ended. A big, fat, burnout. And then some phoenix action

Sadly, Samhain Publishing, the lovely company who bought all my Miranda Baker e-books, is closing its doors, and I got the rights back to the books. I’d intended to self-publish the books as soon as I got them back, but it seemed like such a HUGE undertaking. I procrastinated until Molly O’Keefe, a wonderful author-friend, basically grabbed me by the cheeks and said I was being silly for wasting time, G*d bless her. She also gave me the name of her formatter and her cover artist, just to light a little fire under me. I really love that woman. I think she’s a Jedi because I’m pretty sure I filed the paperwork for Balancing Act Press the next day. 🙂

I’ll write more about my adventures in self-publishing very soon (for those considering the plunge). It’s been a wild ride, but not nearly as difficult as I imagined.

It’s easier to market books that are similar, but I didn’t know that when I wrote these stories. Therefore I ended up with m/f BDSM in BOTTOMS UP, f/f and m/f sex toy experimentation in SOLOPLAY, a bisexual empath in HOOK UP, f/f/m menage in TOP STUDENT, and f/f BDSM in GIRL TROUBLE. LOL. What do they have in common? My voice, my sense of humor, and my rather liberal approach to sexuality! I love these stories, and I’m so excited to share them. They’re fun, super-sexy, a little edgy, and very romantic. Blurbs, excerpts, and pre-order links can be found on my Books page. The books will release on 11/29/2016!

(And for those of you who know me in “real” life, why yes, that is my gorgeous friend Jennifer Kacey on the cover of BOTTOMS UP! I’m so delighted she let me use one of her fabulous photos. How cool is that?!)

So…are you shocked by this revelation? How secret was my “secret”? 😀

  1. Congratulations on taking the plunge. Not such a big deal once you get the hang of it.
    Emma Lane

Leave a Reply

