Writer.Chef.Romantic.

The New Year’s Eve Party That Wasn’t

In Writer on December 30, 2013 at 12:01 am

hungryhearts banner(STATIC713x316)(1)

A Hungry Hearts welcome to Jenna Rutland! You’re going to need a drink for this! 🙂 Giveaway links at the bottom of the post to encourage you to share your most memorable New Year’s Eve!

A few years ago, my hubby came home from work several days before NYE and told me we’d been invited to a NYE party. It was being hosted by a sweet woman we both knew from work and her husband, who we’d met several times. I bombarded him with questions. Who? What? When? Where? How should I dress? Hubby was able to come up with answers for three out of the five questions so I felt I had enough information.

The night of the party, we arrived promptly at the stated time of 7:30 p.m. Hubby thought he knew exactly where their house was located. When we arrived at our destination, the driveway and street were loaded with cars. Fun times ahead!

Or not.

Upon ringing the doorbell, we received a polite, “So sorry. You’ve got the wrong house. The XYZ’s (name changed to protect the innocent) live next door.” We followed where his index finger pointed to a house with no outside lights on, and certainly no cars in or out of the driveway.

As we tiptoed across the lawn, I used my best quiet, semi-hysterical voice to ask if he was sure they were having a party. As he’s ringing the doorbell, he says, “Well, she said we should stop over for a drink.”

Uh, oh. In my mind, “stop over for a drink” and “you’re invited to a party” are humongously different. Before I could grab his arm and drag him back to the car, porch lights came on and the door was opened. To say our hostess was surprised is like saying the Titanic had a small leak.

After the woman was able to breathe again, she graciously invited us inside, hopefully missing the fact that I’d kicked my husband in the shin. While I’m giving him the universal signal for, “I’m going to kill you,” she took our coats and called for her husband.

While we spewed our apologies for infringing on their evening, they were waving our worries away in a “No, we definitely weren’t expecting anyone tonight, but what the heck! Come on in!” spirit.

It was obvious what we’d walked into. (No, not that. Get your mind out of the gutter.) She was taking down their Christmas decorations while he was figuring out how to set up his new gazillion inch TV. Before we knew it, we had drinks in our hands and an appetizer set in front of us.

After an hour of small talk, I flashed my husband the “let’s get out of here signal.” We stood, stretched, covered the fake yawns we made, and at the same time their daughter arrived because they were going to celebrate their granddaughter’s first birthday!

Can you say awkward???

As we inched our way to the door to allow them their family time, the host said, “Let’s play a game!” I wanted to weep. But we sat at their table and played a card game, and at the first possible instant we said we had to leave.

For having two nitwits descend on them on NYE, our hosts were gracious and fun.

Bottom line? From that night on, hubby has to produce an actual written invitation before we go to a party!!

Happy New Year! -Jenna Rutland

A little bit about JUST FOR THE SUMMER…

Dani Sullivan has come to Lake Bliss to write her latest cookbook and take a breather. After the year she’s had, she deserves a summer retreat to reevaluate priorities and make peace with past decisions. But from the moment single dad and sheriff Matt Reagan shows up, she has a hard time convincing herself that a life away from Lake Bliss could beat the life she might have here.

Recently divorced Matt is ready for a new relationship, but he doesn’t want short-term—his son needs permanence, and so does Matt’s heart. Unfortunately, it’s the smart-mouthed and sinfully sexy Ms. Sullivan who catches his eye. But when Matt learns Dani’s secrets, will he still want her to stay? Or will her chance for love last just for the summer?

A little bit about Jenna:

jennaJenna Rutland lives in a small Michigan community with her husband, son and senior cat. Her daughter and son-in-law have recently given Jenna the awesome title of grandmother!

While her days are spent working as a medical transcriptionist, her nights are filled writing contemporary romance—stories of love, laughter and happily ever after. Guess which occupation is more fun?

She is a member of RWA and is active in her local chapter. After several years on the MVRWA board, she now chairs the group’s annual fall brainstorming weekend as well as acts as food coordinator for several other events.

Jenna takes pleasure in spending time with her family. She also enjoys reading, gardening and loves the challenge of a new recipe.

Jenna welcomes the chance to connect with writers and readers. For more information, head to her website, and hang out with Jenna on Facebook and Twitter.

Enter to win a copy of JUST FOR THE SUMMER by Jenna Rutland: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hop on the Hungry Hearts Holiday Hop for great Dip, App, and Drink recipes to make your New Year’s Eve delicious! And the chance to win one of three $25 gift cards!

  1. Sounds interesting

  2. Celebrating with friends

  3. One of the funniest stories ever! My favorite New Years is a quiet peaceful time at home. Always has been. Not a fan of big parties.

  4. I totally agree! Stay at home, and eat, drink and be merry – in my pj’s! Thanks for commenting!

  5. My best one was the year my husband and I got married, we celebrated the new year being together for the first time.

  6. My worst New Year’s Eve is coming up because it is the first without my mom.

  7. Best New Years eve was one many years ago before I was married, spent with family and a few close friends. It involved a 250 lb. baby new year, a pitcher (or two) of frozen margaritas and some awesome music.
    The worst, oddly enough, was probably the millennium. My husband works in IT and, with the dreaded Y2K fears, he had to work that night. I would have loved to ring in the new millennium anywhere with him..

    • Jane, I remember the Y2K fears. Everybody was afraid to fly. We thought all our computers would crash. I think the whole world held their breath at midnight!! Glad nothing came of it!

  8. Ohmigoodness. GREAT story!

  9. Thanks, Liz. I’d love to say I made it up, but it really happened! LOL. Hope you have a Happy New Year!

  10. What a funny NYE story. 😀 We usually stay home watching the apple (or whatever it is that year) fall on TV as a family.

  11. My best (and worst) memory was of a new year’s eve party with friends. We all ate, drank and got merry….some more than others! A male friend of my fiance’s took my camera and disappeared. Let’s just say, the pics that were developed included a close-up of a certain “member” of the party. LOL!!! What a night!!!

  12. I am a nurse, so I work many New Years Eves. Let the younger girls go out. My husband is a PA, also working. He is catering both our work areas with a barbeque dinner.

    • Deanna, Now that’s a story! Too funny. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Shari, My daughter and sister are both nurses so I totally understand. It’s great people like you who work so the younger ones have the time off. Someone did that for my daughter this year so she and her husband could spend the day with their two year old. Very gracious of you!

      And I love that your husband is catering for both your jobs. Sounds like a great time! Enjoy, and Happy New Year!

  13. Oh Jenna! I felt your pain and embarrassment reading that! I hope your NYE this year is a whole lot more comfortable!

Leave a Reply

