Writer.Chef.Romantic.

Hungry Hearts Happy New Year!

In Chef on December 26, 2013 at 12:44 am

hungryhearts banner(STATIC713x316)(1)Welcome to the HUNGRY HEARTS HOLIDAY HOP! We are so excited to CELEBRATE the New Year with mouthwatering dip, appetizer, and drink recipes and delicious EXCERPTS from today’s hottest food-loving ROMANCE writers! Hop around each author’s site for a new recipe, and fill out the Rafflecopter form for the chance to win one of three $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble GIFT CARDS!

In addition to the HUNGRY HEARTS HOLIDAY HOP giveaway, I’ll be featuring Hungry Hearts authors on my site this week and gifting their books to lucky winners. Stay tuned to get in on the fun! If you’d like to party in real time, please join our Facebook Party December 26th – January 1st. Pop in to chat about your New Year’s Eve plans and your 2014 resolutions.

I’m a sucker for citrus…and pomegranate…and martinis. The pomegranate part must run in the family because my New Year’s Eve baby (um…about to turn 12) will sit down and eat an entire pomegranate, seeds and all, several times a week when they’re in season. I prefer to drink mine. Like this:

photo(74)Pomegranate Orange Martini (Makes two!)

6 ounces pomegranate juice

1 ounce orange juice

2 ounces vodka

1 Tablespoon (1/2 ounce) orange liqueur (more if you like it sweeter like my neighborhood BFF Melissa who miraculously had everything we needed to make these on Christmas morning-ish)

Shake over ice. Pour in a glass. Garnish with festivity! Drink with good cheer!

This is my new perfect drink. It’s sweet but not too sweet. It’s tart without kicking me in the jaw. I’m pretty sure I drank three while we were playing cards, and it’s rare that I’ll drink anything alcoholic before the sun goes down. The fact that I drank so many and held my own during the game tells me it could use a hair more vodka, but I’ll leave that up to you. 😉

Into-the-FireI love festive beverages, and I often incorporate them into my books. Jack and Lila drink Blackberry Smashes during their red-hot truce in INTO THE FIRE. Jenna quaffs a Hibiscus Margarita before sealing the deal with Roman in SEDUCING THE PLAYBOY (coming soon!) and Betsy is about to imbibe a rainbow of daiquiris in a French Quarter bar in Book Three, the book I’m writing now.

On New Year’s Eve, my house will be filled with twelve year-olds celebrating my daughter’s birthday. There will be pizza, brownies, smoothies, games, and enough noise to have me reaching for the martini shaker, I’m sure. How are you celebrating this year?

For more mouthwatering dips, apps, and drinks, click here:

To enter our giveaway for 3 $25 GIFT CARDS to Amazon or Barnes & Noble, click here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

  1. We have three groups of old friends visiting from all over the country for New Year’s Eve and I am DEFINITELY going to make these martinis – in fact I really think I’ll need a couple of days practice beforehand so I’m making one tomorrow!

  2. I am looking forward to starting school and a new job.

  3. Those martinis look amazing! Definitely something new I’ll be trying

  4. You’re so bold with a house full of 12 year old girls. I gave trouble imagining one more.

    I’m not usually a fan of pomegranate, but I have to admit, this sounds good.

    • Oh and I hope to find more time to read. Maybe I need to put out in the universe to get my reading addiction under control, just a tad bit.

  5. Thanks for the recipe, it sounds yummy! Resolutions….not sure yet I’ll have to think on it. I finally got around to last years on Dec. 4th!

  6. Hi y’all! Thanks for coming by!
    Sharon, I’m usually anti-resolutionary. I like to tell myself “Good job, woman!” once a year instead. I find it more motivating. 🙂
    Kim, I want to find more time to read, too! It’s hard to balance reading and writing and kids and jobs, but there are so many authors I love.
    Barbara and bh313, you won’t regret trying the martini. I knind of want one right NOW!
    And good luck with the new job, heather! That’s awesome. 🙂

  7. So many yummy recipes. My big goal for the year is to loose 40 lbs in the next year. Plus to continue to read. To continue with many of my online reader friends.

  8. My resolution is to try and balance, family, work, school…life…and not go crazy on my family…..

  9. Sounds tasty

  10. I love the tartness of pomegranate, so the drink sounds fabulous.

  11. After a day of shopping for the big birthday party, I could really go for a martini…

Leave a Reply

