Writer.Chef.Romantic.

Dishing on THANKSgiving

In Writer on November 4, 2013 at 12:27 am

hungryhearts banner(STATIC713x316)(1)

Christine Warner and I met on June 10th when our Indulgences released from Entangled Publishing. I am totally in LOVE with her BACHELOR’S SPECIAL cover! Stay tuned for an adorable excerpt and a super Hungry Hearts author prize pack giveaway…after a few words about Thanksgiving from Christine!

bs 200 x 300Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday of the year. Ever since I was a child I’ve enjoyed the day because it’s always been filled with family, friends, food, laughter—and a healthy dose of tradition. The year after I got married I took over hostess duties from my mom and dad and I’ve never looked back.

I love it!

Oh sure, I’ve made a few mistakes here and there—like keeping the heart, neck, and gizzard bag in the turkey while it cooked…not once, but twice…lol—or leaving the corn in the microwave and not noticing until hours after dinner had been eaten and put away, or adding too much salt to the gravy that only a few potatoes could cure—but all of these only added to the funny stories we added to our list to talk about the following year and each year afterward. (Yes, I still get asked by my husband every Thanksgiving morning if I removed the “extras” bag from the turkey…teehee).

One of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions is that each family member is asked to bring a dish to pass. One that is a mainstay and is on the table every year—like the vegetable tray, or deviled eggs—but we also have to bring a new dish to pass. Sometimes this new dish will be added to the table for years to come and sometimes it’s just a one time deal.

We’ve shared some interesting foods. Dishes we might not have ever dared to make and some we probably shouldn’t have. Lol! One of the best recipes that has been added to our table each year is a Fruit Medley Punch that I made as my new dish several years back and it’s been on the table each year since. This is such a well loved punch that when I decided to shake things up one year and try a new punch I had a minor riot on my hands—I haven’t deviated from my punch recipe since. The recipe can be found on my blog if you want to check it out at christine-warner.com.

I’m looking forward to this year. I’m already pouring through recipes to find my “new” addition and am hoping it tops the sweet potato soufflé I made last year. My brother loved it and took all the leftovers home, but it left me with a cavity and semi-comatose from a sugar overdose. Definitely not one I’ll be making again. Lol! I’m also in full anticipation mode to see what my sister brings. Although she doesn’t enjoy cooking, she has a great imagination and always comes up with a hit.

How about you and your family? Any special Thanksgiving traditions you’d like to share?

I’m sure Chet and Jill from Bachelor’s Special are full of tradition. I can see Jill in the kitchen preparing a fantastic turkey dinner with Chet’s unskillful help. But I know they are both looking forward to their families coming together to celebrate the season…

bs 200 x 300

Available from from AMAZON, BARNES & NOBLE, KOBO, iTUNES and more.

BACHELOR’S SPECIAL BLURB:

Saute, simmer, and flambé…

Jill Adgate wants three things from life: a successful catering business, the devoted love of an exceptional man, and a family. What she has is no job, a mounting pile of bills, and her outspoken best friend—who sets her up on a blind date with the man who inadvertently ruined Jill’s life.

Chet Castle is a prosperous businessman who has everything, except the ability to trust. Burned by a money-hungry fiancée, he refuses to get involved with any relationship that has a shelf life longer than a head of lettuce.

Intrigued by her ambition–and determined to get her in bed–Chet offers Jill the chance of a lifetime: Work for him for the next eight weeks as his live-in chef and he’ll help her get her catering business off the ground. When sparks fly in the kitchen, Jill realizes what’s cooking with her commitment-phobic employer is a recipe for disaster…but it’s just too tasty to not take a bite.

The excerpt I’m sharing has a little taste from both Jill and Chet’s perspective. ENJOY!

EXCERPT:

Her body hummed as his smile wavered. Although he wore sunglasses, she’d bet her last dollar his gaze swept across her chest, lingering on the betrayal of her pert nipples pushing against the fabric of her suit.

Until this moment, shyness had never been a trait she possessed. Air stalled in her lungs, her palms grew sweaty, and she itched to cover herself with a towel. Even though her replica vintage swimsuit hid more than most sets of women’s underwear, she felt too exposed. She turned to the side slightly and folded her legs up. Not that it helped, but it made her feel a bit less exposed.

Chet slid his feet from his sandals, brushing a hand through his hair. The heat from the sun wasn’t the only thing scorching her skin. She trickled several droplets of water over her arms, but she couldn’t drag her focus from his toned flesh. Jill soaked in his ripped abs and the obvious package of goodies covered by his brown swimsuit—the same sexy brown as his hair. Damn, did a man have a right to fill out a pair of swimming trunks like that? Flecks of hair, just enough to give him a manly appeal, covered the etched muscles of his long, tan legs.

She licked her lips, hoping she could still speak. “Do you want some privacy?” Yes, say yes. She needed an excuse to make an escape without coming off like someone desperate to be making an exit.

***

Hell no, he didn’t want privacy. Through the shield of his sunglasses, he inspected her body from the tips of her pink-painted toenails to the top of her brightly flowered swimming cap. Did people still actually wear those things?

“No, you look comfortable. Stay and enjoy the day.”

“Oh…are you sure?”

“Sure.”

Amazed at his own ability to talk without his tongue hitting the cement, Chet turned to throw his towel and sunglasses on a nearby lounge chair. Damn. The red and white polka-dot halter-style suit featured a tight bodice, but her slender hips and shapely thighs hiding beneath a matching skirt grabbed his attention until all oxygen left his blood. Even showing less skin than the average girl on the beach, she far exceeded sexy and alluring.

Get a grip, Castle. She’s off limits, no matter how delectable.

He turned and stepped onto the diving board. He bounced along the surface as he made his way over the water. When he looked at Jill’s bathing cap covering her head, he held back his grin. The neon rubber flowers reminded him of something his grandmother would’ve worn, but there the similarity ended. Everything beneath that cap was far from making him think of Grandma.

To see how things work out with Jill and Chet, buy BACHELOR’S SPECIAL from AMAZON, BARNES & NOBLE, KOBO, and iTUNES.

A little bit about Christine Warner:

Christine Warner is living her dream in Michigan along with her husband, three children, one laptop and a much loved assortment of furry friends.

Besides laughing and a good round of humor, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, reading, writing but no arithmetic. A confessed people watcher, she finds inspiration for her stories in everyday activities. She loves to read and write about strong heroes and determined, sometimes sassy, heroines.

You can find Christine on the web at:

Christine’s Words http://christine-warner.com/

Twitter: @ChristinesWords https://twitter.com/ChristinesWords

Facebook…stop by and LIKE my page and stay up to the minute on what I have going on and play along with some of the games we play: https://www.facebook.com/authorchristinewarner?ref=hl

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5763713.Christine_Warner

The Hungry Hearts authors are giving away a prize pack! Click this link to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway

And don’t forget to hop around the Hungry Hearts Holiday Hop to get some great Thanksgiving recipes and enter to win a Harry & David Crater Lake Gift Basket!

hungryhearts badge (STATIC300x250)

  1. Thanks so much for having me on your blog and letting me share my love of Thanksgiving Amanda 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for the post. So great to get to know new authors this way. For Thanksgiving we will be sticking to the tried and true….sigh. My family seems to think that the meal MUST be the same every year. Adding or taking away dishes …. blasphemy!!

    • LOL Bette…and that is total tradition. I think my issue is that I love to play games and this was just another game I could play involving the food on our traditional table. It’s been fun the last several years, but I’m sure something will take it’s place eventually.

      Happy Thanksgiving and thank you for coming by!

  3. Don’t have any traditions

  4. I’m not sure we’re even cooking Thanksgiving this year. For the past 4 years, hubby has cooked a turkey and made a roaster pan of dressing. These have been taken down to the church to add to the dinner prepared by some other families (think there’s usually been 4 turkeys and a couple hams, mashed potatoes, gravy). We all had dinner together along with anyone else, either inside the church congregation or from outside, who wanted to join us or didn’t have anywhere else to go, etc. Some of the church people would also bring dishes – green bean casserole, sweet potatoes, etc, or desserts – but that wasn’t required to come eat. We had up to 70 I think one year.
    However, this year we moved and our current church family doesn’t do anything like that. And since our kids won’t have the Friday following Thanksgiving off, they won’t come here. But we might go to our daughter’s house. OR, hubby & I might just go to Cracker Barrel or some other place to eat.
    But I do like your idea, Christine, of the new dish each year.

  5. My family usually does both. We stick to the tried and true but we also try new things each year. One of my favorites has been pumpkin dip which is amazingly tasty!

    I also want to say thank you for doing this hop! I absolutely love foodie books and I’m finding a lot of new authors to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

