Writer.Chef.Romantic.

The Next Big Thing and Other Carrots

In Romantic on March 9, 2013 at 8:34 am
buttonblogoversary

All giveaways run through April 5th, so get in there!

I’m supposed to be working on Book Two for Entangled right now…but it’s a great month for food-loving romance readers, so I wanted to broadcast a few things. 🙂

First of all, I’m on Stella Ex-Libris site today coming clean about why I write culinary romance. Confession is good for the soul! And if you haven’t read

ScrumptiousORLuscious

Enter Stella’s Scrumptious or Luscious giveaway! It’s her 3-year Blogoversary, and she’s featuring her favorite authors and books (with more giveaways!) all month long. I am flattered to be among them. Thanks, Stella! Happy birthday!

A baker turned chocolatier hero? Just YES!

A baker turned chocolatier hero? Just YES!

Secondly, a few weeks ago, Christi Barth tagged me in a “Next Big Thing” blog post, and I’ve been pondering ever since. Who wouldn’t want to be the next big thing? Uh…pretty much nobody, I’m guessing! But as much as I would love to be able to take the family on a restaurant rampage that would satisfy their gluttonous little souls, I need a more immediate, attainable carrot. Because I use the stick liberally while I seek my goals and, let’s face it, it’s damn hard to make a zillion dollars writing these days. So what’s my carrot? The writing zone. Joy in the process. The pleasure of making fantastic friends while pursuing the dream. I met Christi at a conference several years ago, and we’ve kept track of each other. Now I get to crow about her books when they come out – and I get to read them. Delicious carrots!

Broody cop rubs up against saucy chef? Oh, baby!

Broody cop rubs up against saucy chef? Oh, baby!

Lastly, I met Kimberly Kincaid at a writer’s conference, too. It was a little bit like being hit with a gorgeous whirlwind of foodie romance fervor, and by the next conference, she had sold her culinary romances to Kensington. Kensington is doing that fast-release thing in 2014, but her novella LOVE ON THE LINE is available now. It’s fun, fast, and inexpensive – a splendid carrot!

Now that I have gotten all that off my chest, I better get to work. May your March be filled with lions and lambs…and LOVE! (As it surely will be if you gobble up these tasty romances.) 🙂

  1. Thanks for participating in my Blogoversary Celebrations Amanda and for your lovely post! 😀

  2. …taps finger impatiently….waiting for YOUR next book to be MY carrot!

  3. Thank you for all the love! Stella’s Blogoversary looks delicious, and of course I’ll be snapping up Christi’s book (and probably reading it all in one sitting!)

Leave a Reply

